How many types of triggers are there?

 Updated on October 16, 2014     VIKRAM     1148

There are two types of triggers. 

  1. After Triggers:

  • These triggers run after an insert, update or delete on a table. They are not supported for views. 
  • After Triggers can be classified further into three types as
  1. AFTER INSERT Trigger. 
  2. AFTER UPDATE Trigger. 
  3. AFTER DELETE Trigger. 


  1. Instead of Triggers:

  • These can be used as an interceptor for anything that anyone tried to do on our table or view. 
  • If you define an Instead of Trigger on a table for the Delete operation, then try to delete rows, 2 and they will not actually get deleted (unless you issue another delete instruction from within the trigger)
  • Instead of Triggers can be classified further into three types as
  1. INSTEAD OF INSERT Trigger. 
  2. INSTEAD OF UPDATE Trigger. 
  3. INSTEAD OF DELETE Trigger. 

If you enjoyed this post, please like (or) share this article.